Preisvergabe und Ausstellungseröffnung

Jury 2011, Strabag Artlounge Foto: Reklame Kontor Franc

to the overview

STRABAG Artaward International 2011
Preisvergabe und Ausstellungseröffnung

On June 30th 2011 the Strabag Artaward International 2011 was presented by Dr. Hans Peter Haselsteiner, Chairman of the Management Board of Strabag SE. For the first time in the 18-year history of the STRABAG Artaward, the international jury decided to choose two winners. This exception was justified as follows: After several votes and heated discussions, the works of both artists were equally convincing in their unusual intensity. Both testified to the highest artistic quality, content and thematic tension as well as consistent way of working.

Prize winners of the Strabag Artaward 2011 are:


The recognition prizes:


Einladung Artaward 2011
Katalog Artaward International 2011
Press realease 2011

647 Artists from Austria, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Slovakia had applied for the Strabag Artward International. On April 6th, 261 works by 87 artists were judged by the final jury.

The jurors of the preliminary and final jury 2009-2011:

Barnabás Bencsik, Director Ludwig Museum, Budapest
Zsolt Petrányi, curator, expert on (south) east European art, Budapest
Karel Císar, curator, young art expert, Prague
Tatjana Langášková, Director, Czech Center Vienna
Juraj Carný, curator, gallery owner, Pressburg
Beata Jablonská, curator, art historian, Academy of Art and Design, Pressburg
Carl Aigner, Director of the Lower Austrian Museum GmbH, St. Pölten
Edith Raidl, expert and collector, Vienna
Wilhelm Weiss, Barbara Baum, Director and Artistic Director, Strabag Kunstforum

The STRABAG Artaward International was announced for the third time in 2011: 647 artists from the participating countries Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary submitted their documents online on the STRABAG Art Forum website at As in previous years, the applicants included a large number of artists who had already applied and brought in new works. After several weeks of pre-selection on the Internet by the ten-member international jury of experts from the participating countries, 87 artists were invited to the final selection in April 2011. Three original works per artist from the disciplines of painting, mixed media and drawing were then collected in the STRABAG headquarters in Prague, Bratislava and Budapest and transported to Vienna. Thus, 261 works were judged by the main jury in the Art Lounge in the STRABAG building in Vienna. The jury, which changes every three years, met for the last time in the tried and tested composition. Viewing, comparing and relating the originals served to grasp the character of the respective works intensively and directly.

 - Preisträger 2011

1982 born in Budapest
2002-Eotvos Lorant University of Sciences, art history department, Budapest, H
2003-2004 Tihany International Postgraduate Program organized by The Hungarian Academy of Fine Arts, Goldsmiths College, London, GB
2005 Erasmus Scholarship, Accademia di Belle Arti di Brera, Milano, I
2007-member of the FKSE, Young Artists Association, Budapest, H
2001-2007 Hungarian Academy of Fine Arts, painting department
2004-2008 Hungarian Academy of Fine Arts, intermedia department
2003-2004 Scholarship of the Hungarian Republic
2004 Barcsay Award
2007 Endre Bela Award
2009 Scholarship of the Municipial Government of Budapest, Frankfurt / Main, D
2009-2011 Derkovits Scholarship
Lives and works in Budapest

Marta Czene


SVÄTOPLUK MIKYTA Award winner 2011

1973 geboren in Cadca
1992-95 VŠVU Academy of Fine Arts, Prof. V. Kolencik, Bratislava, Sk
1996 Stipendium Kunstlerwege, Staatl. Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Stuttgart, D
1999-00 VŠVU Academy of Fine Arts, ceramics, Prof. Vidrova-Langerova, Bratislava, Sk
2000-01 Assistent, VŠVU Academy of Fine Arts, Bratislava, Sk
2001-02 DAAD-Stipendium an der HDK, Berlin, D
2003-04 Assistent, Academy of Fine Arts, Banska Bystrica, Sk
2003- Assistent, VŠVU Academy of Fine Arts, Bratislava, Sk
2006 PROGR_artist in residence program, Bern, Ch
2008 Oskar Cepan Award, prize winner, Sk Tatransky Tiger Award, prize winner, SK
2009 Scholarship ISCP, New York, USA
Lebt und arbeitet in Prag, Cz, Ilija und Bratislava, Sk

Svätopluk Mikyta


KIM CORBISIER - Recognition

1985 geboren in Belgien
2000-2004 Szechenyi Istvan High School, Dunaujvaros,
2004-2005 Eotvos Lorand University, French studies, Budapest,
2005-2010 Hungarian University of Fine Arts, Prof. Andras Halasz, Budapest,
2008 Fundamenta - Amadeus Artist Prize, Budapest, Hungarian University of Fine Arts, Barcsai Terem, Amadeus Scholarship, Erasmus Scholarship, Marseilles, F
2010 Kogart FRESH, Diploma Prize, KOGART Gallery, Budapest,
Lebt und arbeitet in Nagyvenyim

> Kim Corbisier


1973 geboren in Neapel
1992-1998, Technische Universität, Berlin, Studium der Architektur, architectural studies Bauhaus Universität, Weimar, Universita degli Studi di Napoli
Lebt und arbeitet in Wien

Cristina Fiorenza


JAKUB HOŠEK  Recognition

1979 geboren in Prag, Cz
1998-2004 Academy of Fine Arts, Prof. Vladimir Skrepl, Praha, Cz
2003 Middlesex University, London, GB
2002-2004 SAIC, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, USA
2008 residency, MuseumsQuartier, Wien, A
2006 residency, PROGR, Bern, Ch
Lebt und arbeitet in Prag, Cz und London, GB

Jakub Hosek